« Say Cheeeeeeeese | Main | cat scratch fevah »
May 30, 2006
mi pero
So that guy that Girl From Auntie has been posting about, the one who harvests free online patterns, strips copyrights, alters images, puts a bunch of them together and sells the "Ebooks" on Ebay has hit The Garter Belt.com as well. Elizabeth's Beatrix Hat has been stolen. Lookie here.
We got the infringement .pdf, WTF. And I notice on the bottom of the pages there's
his Ebook is the owned and compiled by GoldskyMedia ©2006 All Rights Reserved It is not for resale by any other party. If you have purchased this ebook from any supplier than GoldskyUK, please report to goldsky_media@yahoo.co.uk
ironic don't you think?
UPDATE: The guy is selling here on CQ Out Auctions as well.
UPDATE: So, looks like he's pulled the knitting patterns for now. Tip of the iceberg indeed.
PS, thank you April for spotting this!
Posted May 30, 2006 05:58 PM
Comments
chutzpah! and not in a good way. ebay isn't usually happy about this sort of thing, is there anything one can do?
Posted by: Debbie at May 30, 2006 06:14 PM
Sure, TGB emailed him stating he in no way what so ever had permission to use neither design nor image. I sent an email to Ebay and am faxing in the copyright infringement .pdf in the AM (everything is closed here now).
Posted by: zib at May 30, 2006 06:26 PM
Wow, that's a blatant case of theft! He didn't even change the photo. Hope you get some resolution on this.
Posted by: Leslie at May 30, 2006 06:49 PM
What a ba#)@rd -- someone gave him a negative rating (the FIRST ONE of over 2000!) and he complained that the buyer didn't let him know per email first. With the volume of stuff he's got going, it's high time to kick his @ss off ebay, _at least_. Maybe it would be a good thing for him to actually learn to knit or crochet himself -- in jail?
'Scuse my French. Scams like this really push my buttons.
Posted by: Debbie at May 30, 2006 06:57 PM
What a pisser! Sorry you girls have to deal with this schmuck. I hope his karma catches up to him sooner rather than later.
Posted by: amanda at May 30, 2006 07:09 PM
This is so infuriating! I hope eBay boots him off.
Posted by: Gina at May 30, 2006 07:16 PM
If he's done this much w/ the knitting patterns what are the chances that the rest of his "ebooks" are not "written" the same way? - wildass speculation mind you, but...
Posted by: zib at May 30, 2006 07:19 PM
Wow, and I recognize the "cover page" as the free hat from elann... the nerve!
Posted by: Aija at May 30, 2006 07:42 PM
How horrible! And I was thinking the same thing. What was that - over 700 items - all internet-harvested recipes, advice, patterns, no doubt. Blech.
Posted by: jpknits at May 30, 2006 07:43 PM
Zib, I thought the same thing. That it surely isn't just the knitting patterns that are stolen. I'm betting all of his ebooks are stolen goods. I hope ebay kicks this thief to the curb.
Posted by: sarah at May 30, 2006 08:01 PM
It would be worth it to buy it, just so you could leave a negative feedback. I bet we could get 1000 people to do it and leave him 1000 feedbacks. Asshole.
Posted by: raeknits! at May 30, 2006 08:23 PM
Argh! I swear e-bay is a festering wound in the side of the internet. I've had something similar happen to me and the transcripts I type out for HBO's Deadwood Fans. They're posted for free online and some jerk prints them out and sells them.
Posted by: turtlegirl76 at May 30, 2006 08:27 PM
raeknits!, only problem he'd then have 1000xselling
price and be on his merry way to pop up again some
place else. know what I mean?
Posted by: zib at May 30, 2006 08:53 PM
SCHMUCK! B@STARD!
Nail him to the wall. I CAN NOT STAND THIEVES AND COPY CATS! That's why I left Etsy! Now, I have to put watermarks on my merchandise photos, copyright, trademark, patents, etc. Then, you have to pay an attorney to sue the b&*tards. Castrate the thief!
Posted by: Carmen at May 30, 2006 09:28 PM
Oh dear. I'm very sorry this has happened. I'm very glad April caught it and there's a way to file a grievance-type item. I hope it results in an outcome that makes the TGB women feel vindicated.
It's so depressing that people do this to one another.
Posted by: Shelagh at May 30, 2006 10:40 PM
If I wanted to sell the pattern, I would have done that in the first place and made the money myself. I hope that when eBay starts to hear from all the folks whose work he has repackaged and sold illegally that they'll cancel his membership.
Posted by: elizabeth at May 30, 2006 10:41 PM
Hopefully, eBay will be more swift in its execution of justice than some other online marketplaces who shall remain nameless. *grumble*
Posted by: Carmen at May 31, 2006 12:41 AM
I hope the hell you're going after the guy. If you want me to write you a lawyer letter, I'd be happy to oblige, though actually, the girl from auntie is probably a better lawyer to consult. She's a qualified intellectual property lawyer -- I'm just a pissed off one!
Posted by: Lissy at May 31, 2006 02:08 AM
This bit has been added to his auction
listing: * "I have been granted resell or master resell rights. This listing also fully conforms with the compilation and international media policy and the downloadable media policy."
Posted by: Lisa Rogers Lowrance at May 31, 2006 02:22 AM
Gak! I know he's harvested some patterns from KnittingAbout.com -- I've got a baby hat pattern there -- the Baby Jester Hat. If anyone knows that it's included in this collection please e-mail and I'll add my voice to the "Cease and desist" chorus.
Posted by: LaurieG at May 31, 2006 02:52 AM
This sucks. Like everyone else says, hopefully they will kick his lazy thieving butt off ebay. The only problem is that people like this just keep finding other ways to sell their illegal wares.
Posted by: Gaile at May 31, 2006 03:23 AM
I assume you've seen the stuff about VeRO on eBay? If not: http://pages.ebay.co.uk/help/policies/questions/vero-ended-item.html
Posted by: Liz at May 31, 2006 04:25 AM
also: http://pages.ebay.co.uk/help/tp/vero-rights-owner.html
Posted by: Liz at May 31, 2006 04:27 AM
Hi,
I got here from Knit&Tonic Wendy's page.
I did some peeking around Ebay and the afghan
"EBook" looks like a bunch of free patterns
too. "Island Embrace" seems to be a Cat Bordhi
pattern.. can anyone contact her? There are a bunch
from Knittingpatternscentral.com.
At least, the names are the same. Someone's gotta get this guY!!!!
Posted by: Desiree at May 31, 2006 04:57 AM
That is just so wrong. Because eBay is the 'enabler' they need to stop this guy. I would report the listing to them and explain what he is doing. If he gets enough complaints, they can suspend him. I've had good luck just contacting the Live Help people on the homepage.
Posted by: Allison at May 31, 2006 03:40 PM
Here's to hoping that KARMA will do its thing and grab this guy & rearrange his nutz!!!
Posted by: Sherri at May 31, 2006 06:10 PM
















